Fender Princeton Reverb

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by rastaman, Dec 13, 2005.

1. rastaman

rastaman Member

So what's the general consensus of these amps? I have an opportunity to pick one up [ I started playing in a band that I don't need a halfstack for rehearsal so I'm looking for a low wattage combo ] and I've been eying this amp. I'm a Marshall man at heart but this little joker sounded damn good to me.

2. Bruce

Bruce Member

Great amps, The best Fender ever made. I've had my Blackface Princeton Reverb for over 30 years and I'd never sell it.

3. tonemandan

tonemandan Member

A great amp no doubt. Do a search-there was a recent thread that discussed this amp in detail. Grab a mid 70's silverface ( same circuit as the blackface ) and put a 12" speaker in it. While you're at it try the mod to the phase inverter section and you will have one killer little amp. Without the 12" speaker it's still a great amp but not enough headroom/volume to use with most bands live.

Not sure I can go along with "the best Fender ever made". I might vote for it's bigger brothers from the blackface era: Deluxe reverb, Vibrolux reverb, Pro reverb, or Super reverb. I have them all and use the Deluxe reverb for 90% of my gigs so I guess that one would have to get my vote. Or maybe it's just that I'm getting old and don't want to carry around anything heavier than a D.R.!

:p

Dan

4. Boogie92801

Boogie92801 Member

I recently played an early 70's Princeton reverb and it made me sad cause I really wanted to like it. It was very thin and wimpy sounding with no punch at all.

I played a vibro-champ next to it and it sounded better - then I made the mistake of plugging into a 1955 tweed deluxe… Oh man that was one of the best sounding amps ever.

Back to the Princeton, I have heard that with a few tweaks you can make the Princeton way better so it can be a good platform for a great sounding amp.

5. spikeRI

spikeRI Supporting Member