Fender style truss rod..

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by Raccoon, Feb 9, 2012.

1. Raccoon

Raccoon Active Member

I'm relatively new to this guitar building stuff. Got 3 guitar under my built.. they've all been les paul style guitars. I've also used the stewmac hotrod style truss rod's because of laziness.. I just wanted to make a straight/non-curved cut with the router.

Right now I'm building a telecaster and I'm looking to install a one way truss rod with a curved channel.. where the adjustment is at the heel and the anchor is at the head. I'm using a one piece maple neck.

This may seem like a weird question.. but I've noticed a lot of people cut out most of the channel with the router and then use a drill for the rest of the channel on the heel and head. Why bother? Why not just use the router for the whole channel and make a bigger strip? I imagine it comes down to aesthetics.. but why does it matter on the heel when no one is ever gonna see that part of the neck? Am I missing something?

Also.. this is for a friend.. so a little help of the curvature would be great. I like straight necks so I've never worried about this sort of thing. Where should the neck bend.. somewhere in the middle? I could experiment but this is more of a hobby and I'd rather get it right the first time... especially since most the guitar I make for myself I could care less about that sort of thing.

2. Jack Daniels

Jack Daniels Supporting Member