Fender Super Champ XD

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Taylor Daly, Feb 7, 2008.

1. Taylor Daly

Taylor Daly Member

Gotta be honest. Recently my buddy and I, with all the crazy gear we share and have had between the two of us (Twins, Supers, Zs, Marshall, Top Hat, and too many effects to list lol), have been laughing about how much fun we have just plugging into his GDEC while sitting on the couch BSing.

The other day we were at GC (I know I know) looking at their used Gibson LPs and just for fun I plugged a cheapo strat into a Cyber Twin. I didnt play with any kind of volume or really put it through the paces, but damn if it wasnt fun. People actually got in line behind me to jump on it after I started playing it. I know a lot of you true tube snobs will laugh at me, but fun is fun...and I had a good time with all the settings etc. Then I looked at the price tag. Eek. I might pay around half that.

Once back home I started fishing around for a hybrid amp that I could move around the house or take to work and found the Super Champ XD. Everything I read here or on the FDP says people are just loving the little thing. Great clean BF tone, and fun plexi tone stuff (amongst others).

So for $300 new I figured what the hell, and I gotta be honest...Im damn excited. Elderly was the only place I could find that had it in stock. Ive got an empty JDesign 2x12 cab sitting in my office corner that I think I might have to find some speakers for to run the SCXD through.

Anyone have one of these little buggers? What do you think? Tried it through a larger cab yet?

http://www.fender.com/products//search.php?partno=2331100000
    [​IMG]

2. billyguitar

billyguitar Member

I don't think they're in stores yet.

3. tourist

tourist Member

They are, I have one and love it. Bought it from GC a week ago and I really love it. It sounds awesome! :)

4. Taylor Daly

Taylor Daly Member