Fiddles are pretty cool!

Discussion in 'Member Video and Sound Clips' started by Telewanger, Jan 31, 2008.

1. Telewanger

Telewanger Member

Hey Guys,

I bought one of those cheap Barcus Berry blue electric violins a while back. After screeching on it for 2 weeks, I put it in the closet. About 3 weeks ago, I got it back out, tuned it up, and started goofing around with it again.

I try to play all of the instruments on most of my recordings.

I have been playing guitar, by ear, for years. I figured that maybe I'll try to play some guitar licks on my fiddle, to see what happens.

Here is a sample of my complete 3 weeks worth of self taught training. As you can tell, I have no bow technique or any idea of what I am doing. If I had to guess, I would say that I have 50 hours total on a fiddle.

I can think of all kinds of cool licks, but I can't play them yet, so you will have to settle with the poor selection on the tune. I think that I can be good some day, but it seems like a world away.

I didn't use a mic, and sometimes it sounds like a Sax or something! I ran it through some of my guitar effects processors, so it sounds pretty strange.

Let me know what you think!

Click the link below!

http://www.atlanticplumbing.net/mikefiddle.mp3

2. Lucidology

Lucidology Member

You're a brave man ...:)

3. Telewanger

Telewanger Member

Wow, Does that mean "Good Brave", or "Bad Brave" ?

I was very shy about placing my only recording online. I am glad that you enjoy it. Since I have only been playing for a short time, I have to slide in and out of the notes in order to hit the correct pitch. It is cheating, but it will have to work for now!

I also don't use any reference markings on the neck. I don't want it to be a crutch to lean on. I just turn on the recorder and let things happen.