Filliment hum on cathode follower tube question ??

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by ChrisGS, Feb 6, 2006.

1. ChrisGS

ChrisGS Member

Hey everybody ,
    I've been fooling with amps for a little while , but I'm no expert tech .

I'm sure that I read in some places that because of the higher than typical voltage on the cathode of a tube being used as a "cathode follower" , that the tube in that position can be more prone to filliment hum .

I had a situation where my friend's amp(Bluesbreaker) started to develope a hum and I changed out that tube (V2) and the hum went away .

Someone suggested that the reason that the hum went away, must have been because the replacment tube was probably a "weaker" tube and that it was not picking up the hum that's in the amp ...But , I don't think that the amp sounds "weak" .

His feeling is that TUBES don't hum , AMPS HUM .

I could swear that I've even had some brand new tubes hum more than others , right out of the box ...and that the quiet tubes didn't seem weaker than the humming tubes ....Am I right , or wrong ?

Thanks for any replies ,
    Chris .

2. Shea

Shea Member

I think some 12AX7s are simply more prone to heater hum than others, and it has nothing to do with how "strong" or "weak" they are.

The ones with spiral filaments definitely should have less hum than the ones that don't, by design.

Also, I wonder if maybe all spiral filaments are not created equal, meaning some brands of tubes with spiral filaments don't do as good a job of eliminating hum as others do. I don't know.

Shea

3. donnyjaguar

donnyjaguar Member

You found that too, eh? General practice for me when re-tubing is to try each 12AX7 tube in the first amplifier section and use the one with the least amound of noise. DC filaments help a lot here I've found so I incorporated into my last amp build this feature.

DJ

4. ChrisGS

ChrisGS Member

Hey guys ,