Finally made the complete jump to modeling

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by EZchair Picker, Feb 9, 2012.

1. EZchair Picker

EZchair Picker Member

I've been using a modeler for a couple years now. Admittedly, it never really sounded any better than 'decent' or 'workable' most of the time. I was never happy with the sound on stage nor being at the mercy of the monitor mix. It's been a long road with lots of lessons learned, but I’ve finally 'gotten it' and have fully embraced the technology. I really appreciate this forum as I’ve spent a lot of time reading and learning from everyone here along the way.

Here’s a few of my ‘a-ha’ moments:

#1) You can’t expect to create a great patch using a poor point of reference (speaker/monitor). My 15 year old crate PA with 10” speakers (one with a blown horn) just sounds bad period. What was I thinking? It would be like hooking up a deluxe reverb to an old kraco 6x9 car speaker and saying that the amp sucks. Everyone has heard of garbage in = garbage out, but a bad speaker system can give you varying degrees of garbage out no matter what goes in.

#2) Want the patch to sound and cut like a real amp? Work the mids! Aside from having the mids bumped up on most of the amp models, I use an additional EQ to boost the lower or higher end of the midrange to fill out the sound. Also watch the bass. A PA or FRFR will often have better lowerer frequency responce than guitar speakers which can result in a boomy sound. I never need as much bass as I think I do!