1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

First clip of Flexi

Discussion in 'Member Video and Sound Clips' started by scottl, May 30, 2005.

1. scottl

scottl Member

I recorded this super quick, no dialing in clip of my Flexi this afternoon. It still has the 12AT7 in the boost slot. EL34. I had it on no master 20 watt. As this is my first attempt, it is a learning curve since there are so many tonal possibilities! THD cab too...

Here is the clip http://www.scottlernermusic.com/thd/edthdfirst1.MP3

For giggles, I recorded this clip of my Fuchs SLX100 moments later. To be fair, I know how to dial it in ;)

http://www.scottlernermusic.com/thd/ed100b.MP3

Strange how they both sound like me!

Scott

2. scottl

scottl Member

Let me reiterate, this was not a contest. This was my first ever clip of the Flexi. I can do MUCH better!!

3. Weldaar

Weldaar Member

20 watt Flexi? I like it. Tonewise great, playing wise excellent.

4. Marcello

Marcello Member

couldn't be more true !!

5. mailman

mailman Member

Sweeeeet, Scott!:dude

6. Normster

Normster Member

Yes, they do both sound like you. What's up with that?

On the current settings, I like the edge on the Flexi clip. Don't smooth it out too much or it'll sound just like your Fuchs. ;)

7. r9player

r9player Silver Supporting Member

Yep the Flexi sounds sharper, more raw, the Fuchs more smooth and "creamy" obviously it both sounds like Scott without a doubt.
    For a first dial in pretty good.
    Question I guess is can the Flexi give you a tone you like that the Fuchs wont? Or ehhh am I getting this wrong?

the playing btw .. I wish I would ever in my lifetime be that good but I know I wont though I keep trying to improve.

8. scottl

scottl Member