First gig with Axe FX: a report from the field

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by willhutch, Oct 5, 2008.

1. willhutch

willhutch Supporting Member

I just played my first gig with my Axe FX. I’d like to post my experiences with this unit so far. The goal of this post is to impart some new info about this device and also to get responses from Axe FX users detailing their experiences and approaches to some of the problems I describe below. I look forward to some informative discussion.

I.Background:
    a.I am a gigging musician playing in a variety of cover bands and occasional original projects. I play a lot of R&B, funk, and blues. I do some gospel and a little straight-up rock & roll. I typically gig in a small club environment.
    b.I have been a lover of tube amps for years. I have owned many of the high end amps touted on TGP as well as a handful of vintage pieces. My #1 amp lately has been a Two-Rock Opal. In the past year I’ve gotten into tube amp building, having completed 3 kit builds with excellent results.
    c.I got the Axe FX for these reasons:
    i.Curiosity (I really don’t NEED anything)
    ii.Flexibility – the ability to get variety of tones and effects.
    iii.Utility – ability to play quietly, record conveniently, feed FOH easily

II.First week of ownership
    I received the unit on Monday and immediately tore open the box to get acquanted. My initial impression was that the Axe FX seems like a robust piece of gear. The chassis is solid, made of hefty metal. The buttons and knobs feel solid with the right amount of physical resistance. The jacks are all feel like they are mounted fast to the chassis.