First Recording the my new Tascam... feedback appreciated

Discussion in 'Member Video and Sound Clips' started by No Code 5, Feb 8, 2006.

1. No Code 5

No Code 5 Member

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=336651

All, this is my first attempt at recording/mastering with my new Tascam DP-01FX. I did this all tonight on single takes... but I am happy with the results. Any feedback, comments/criticisms, compliments, thoughts, etc are appreciated.

Setup...

Tascam DP-01FX eight track digital recorder
    Presonus Tube preamp used on certain tracks as well

Track 1 - Martin D-18V internal ellipse system mic
    Track 2 - Martin D-18V room mic (SM-57 --> presonus)
    Recorded simultaneously
    Track 3 - Gibson J-200 room mic (SM-57 -->presonus)
    Track 4 - Lead vocal (Audix OM-2 -->presonus) with very light reverb from tascam
    Track 5 - backing vocal (Audix OM-2 --> presonus) recorded with me sitting about 5 feet away and heavy reverb
    Track 6 and 7 - Nord Electro 2 direct with heavy reverb - Hammond B3 setting with leslie sim and hammond chorus/vibrato engaged

All first takes and mixed down.

The song is the first song I ever learned on guitar, so it seemed appropriate that it be the first song I record.

Thanks

2. johnfindlay

johnfindlay Member

Sounds good-in the mastering maybe add more compression to glue it all together...i'm no engineer.

Where is the mike placement for the acoustic?

nice tune & vibe too!

JF

3. No Code 5

No Code 5 Member

I really didn't mess with all the effects in the Tascam... just a bit of reverb. I will have to investigate more, thanks for the idea.

The mic for the acoustic was about 8"-10" away and probably 3" -5" up from the center on the acoustic.

Thanks for the feedback, glad you enjoyed it.

4. johnfindlay

johnfindlay Member

one thing alotta rec. engineers have done with me is to place the mic