First tube issue...during a gig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by 72Telecaster, Jan 26, 2012.

1. 72Telecaster

72Telecaster Silver Supporting Member

So during rehearsal last night at church my AC15C1 just cut out mid song. Not cool. Luckily the other guitarist runs a stereo rig with an AC15 so I salvaged the set, but I'm wondering if there are ideas on the culprit. I'm a novice when it comes to tube operation so here's the scenario:

Recently retubed with JJ's across the board - <5 hours on the new tubes.
    Not so good fact: The amp sat in my trunk all day...in MN it was probably 35 degrees outside - black car + sunlight might have warmed it up a bit, but consider 8 hours sitting in ~40 degree temp.

Brought it into church, sat for 5 minutes or so, fired it up without thinking to let it sit, started playing within another 5-10 minutes. It worked just fine for a good 20 minutes, then dead. The 2nd EL84 from the right (looking at the amp from the back) wasn't glowing when I tried powering it up. Going to check the fuses tonight.

Would the temperature differentiation have caused this? Or a faulty EL84? Thankfully I have a matched pair at home to swap in, I just want to prevent this in the future...

2. neville5000

neville5000 Supporting Member

Sounds like a bad EL84. If they're going to prematurely die it's usually within the first 48 hours.

3. clothwiring

clothwiring Supporting Member

I don't know the amp so I might be wrong by saying this. It's 90% either the power tubes or rectifier tube (if this amp has one of 'em). If it's the rect tube, also get yourself (a) new fuse(s).

When gigging tube amps I ALWAYS have a complete set of backup tubes and fuses for the amp. I've never had an issue live but if I do I have no problem switching the power/rect/fuses on first signs of problems.

4. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)