Flangers - Maxon vs. Ibanez vs. MXR which one should I get?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by JohnnyBGoode, Jul 4, 2008.

1. JohnnyBGoode

JohnnyBGoode Member

Hi everyone,

It's my first time posting here.

I have a really big dilemma about what flanger should I get.
    I want something that could add fatness and color to distorted solos and riffs - Van Halen is a good example - although I don't need something too extreme. I'm not really kin about the Unchain tone for example. As far as I understood the pedals mentioned below can get me there.

I can get the Maxon FL9 in a store for the same price that I can buy it on EBay. MXR and Ibanez pedals are sold here in their full price + a little more which means I'll have to directly order them, maybe without a chance to try them in a store first.

Also, Is the Maxon pedal so much better then the Ibanez FL9 that it costs twice more? I did always had issues with Ibanez products (bad luck I guess) so it makes me a little repellent about ordering their pedal.

Any other options I should consider? (Electric Mistress etc...?) I've tried the Fulltone ChoralFlange and I really didn't like the flanger setting so that one is not an option.

I'm really confused here, help me out.

2. blood5150

blood5150 Member

I have the MXR 117 flange... its pretty sweet. takes two 9 volt batteries though.... unless you power it from your pedal board which I do..

3. todd richman

todd richman Senior Member

Have you checked out the Hartman Electronics yet-it is new, a Mistress type flanger and the most liquid, lush flanger out there.

4. 12guitdown

12guitdown Member