Flight case - Calton equivilant????

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by mingo, Jul 21, 2008.

1. mingo

mingo Member

Hi I'm looking for a flight case for a couple of guitars, I'm a touring musician and know Calton cases are great, but I contacted them and they said they won't have them done for 6 months!!!! I kinda need something a lot sooner than that, can anyone recommend any alternatives that don't take a really long time to be made??

Can't be a ATA flight case that weighs 30lbs. I would like something that's as light as a Calton.

Thanks

2. texasdave

texasdave Member

Dream Guitars and acousticpromusician.com both show Caltons in stocks... others will probably have some, just did a fast search and found those... Eastman makes a Calton looking case that's pretty affordable, but I have not spent any time looking at them or surfed for reviews or whatever... just saw 'em at a couple guitar shows and thought they'd be cool for an alternative to the traditional case... So I know those are around, but I have no commentary on the level of protection.

What size guitars are you looking to case up? If I spot something around I'll jump back in...

3. Lawn Jockey

Lawn Jockey Member

Janet Davis Music has some Calton's in stock.

I second the Eastman suggestion...as I have one for my mandolin...and it's a bargain.

Have you looked at Mark Leaf, or Hiscox cases?

4. texasdave

texasdave Member

Mark Leaf had shut down at one point... If they've resurfaced I hadn't heard about it...

5. Beagle1

Beagle1 Member

What kind of guitar is it? If it's a standard size like a dread or an OM/OOO, chances are you can find a Calton by calling around to some of the big stores that specialize in acoustics...Mandolin Bros, Elderly, The Podium, etc. I got an OM size Calton case from Mandolin Bros a while back.

Another option I would seriously recommend checking out is the Case Xtreme:

http://www.casextreme.com/