Focusrite Scarlett 2i2?? I need an interface!!!!!

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by pantshappened, Feb 20, 2012.

1. pantshappened

pantshappened Member

Anyone used or have any input on the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2? I just got a MacBook Pro and would like to get into home recording. I'm thinking either that or the Presonus Audiobox USB. I know i'm just starting out with this and i don't want overkill but i'd like something decent that's gonna last. it seems that either of these are what i'm looking for. But I honestly don't know exactly what to look for in interfaces. I know I want something with 2 inputs that have the integrated jacks(where you can plug XLR or 1/4in into the same jack) and separate level controls for each channel. can anyone help me out at all in whether i should pick one of these 2? or even suggest a different. $150 is the price max

2. Little Guitars

Little Guitars Member

I have one and it's a great basic interface. Easy to use and sounds wonderful.

3. chillybilly

chillybilly Member

I have one and it works well. Uses the USB connection for power so no 60 cycle hum from an adapter.

I also got a TubeMP preamp ($60) to put in front of it for additional warmth from and greater control of mics, especially condensers.

4. pantshappened

pantshappened Member

Yeah? Would you recommend it? And which TubeMP? I see a few in that price range. I'd probably just be starting with an SM57 just for mixing guitars and stuff, nothing crazy yet. but still, good to know. Any other info on small home studio stuff would be awesome. Especially a recommendation for some affordable decent monitors also. Thanks!

5. EchoDeep

EchoDeep Member