For those that record clips....

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by trumpus, Jan 8, 2006.

1. trumpus

trumpus Supporting Member

...what do you use!?

I posted this question in the recording section, but i'd be interested in the feedback from those like me; a guitarist (only) needing some inexpensive way to digitally record.

I used to record short grooves/jams (mainly to get them down so i wouldn't forget) and occasionally an acoustic tune with a couple of vocal tracks to my old analog tascam 4 track. Obviously, this medium left something to be desired.

I am not currently playing with a band, and I am interested in an inexpensive way to record the groove/jams that i write, and occasionally an acoustic tune with a couple of vocal tracks, and eventually burn them to disc or upload them. Additionally, i would like to use this to record pedal clips to post for all to hear!

I have little to no recording knowledge, and even less when it comes to computer recording (perhaps a standalone unit that i can dump to the computer?).

I sold all of my old "recording" setup, and all i have right now is a Shure SM58 and my laptop (a Dell Inspiron 8600, 80 gig HD, 1 gig RAM)...

Any advice would be great. I'm not looking for anything rediculous, but something i can use to make some decent recording of my stuff to share with friends...

Thanks,
    Brian

2. decay-o-caster

decay-o-caster Member

Consider the M-Audio Black Box? An Adrenalinn II with a USB interface for recording to your computer, has an XLR input so you can record clips via mic instead of using the amp models.

3. Play by Tone

Play by Tone Member

Well theres plenty of variance in whats considered "inexpensive" but here are a few suggestions: