For those who use their volume knob to control gain...

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Paul Anderberg, Feb 21, 2012.

Treble Bleed Mods?

1. No treble bleed circuit (Default on most)

2. 50's Wiring

3. Treble Bleed (Cap and Resistor in Series)

4. Treble Bleed (Cap and Resistor in Parallel)

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Paul Anderberg

Paul Anderberg Member

So for everyone that uses a mid-gain amp and controls the gain with your volume knob, what percentage of you are using some sort of treble bleed mod? Whether 50's wiring, cap, cap+res, whatever. I am just learning about these different mods so if my options are off a little, please let me know!

...and are you using humbuckers or single coils?

2. [J.K.]

[J.K.] Member

I'm not using anything right now, but I've long been considering re-wiring a couple of my darker guitars. Would love to hear pros/cons on the differences.
    Great thread.

3. RCM78

RCM78 Member

I dont like treble bleed circuits. If I buy a guitar that has one I snip it right out...

4. el nino

el nino Member

i don't know what you are talkig about cause i don't understand all of this in the poll :huh

i just use stock wiring and pick ups in my 58 reissue and traditional :) and its awesome riding the volume knob,you can get so much out of the guitar...dynamics man ;)

but i would sure like to know if anybody wants to explain all of this wiring,treble bleeds and stuff?

5. Paul Anderberg

Paul Anderberg Member

So, the basics of it are this:

As you turn down the volume knob on a standard wired guitar, the highs get attenuated. So the general thing people complain about is (1) if the amp EQ'd for full volume, it can possibly get muddy when you turn down the volume knob or (2) if you have it EQ'd for 3/4 or 1/2 volume knob, there is a noticable brightness that seemingly occurs.