Forte 3D 2x12 Cab review.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by earthmud, May 1, 2011.

1. earthmud

earthmud Silver Supporting Member Supporting Member

I've had my cab for a few weeks now and am loving it more and more everyday. I wanted to wait till I had a chance to take it to band practice a couple of times before I gave a full review. First of all Dave from Forte was great to work with. He answers emails quickly and was a joy to deal with through the whole process. I was quoted six to eight weeks and thats exactly when I received the cab. I'm a contractor and the build construction on these cabs is off the charts. The milled channels and joints are all very tight and clean and the tolex and grill cloth came out very nice as well. The cab looks and feels extremely sturdy and could probably take a whack from a small bus and end up ok. If not a bus then a Prius for sure;). It's not heavy and not light at least to me. Dave also packs the hell out of these things for shipping.
    The sound of this thing is something special. The notes really do seem to come from nowhere. It's very cool effect. No matter where you stand the cab comes through loud and clear without any beaming or overwhelming bass. The sound from the front is still very focused even with the side ports but it wont take your head off. Last practice we had a room mic set at least 20 ft from the cab and it came through loud and clear with great balance and focus. Since this was not the standard way to mic a cab I was really surprised how good it sounded at such a distance and how well it came through on the recording. It really is one of the nicest sounding cabs I've ever heard. All around I am extremely pleased with the cab and feel confident it will be with me for a very long time. Dave at Forte is a great guy who truly cares about his product and I can't recommend his cabs highly enough. Class act all the way.

[​IMG]

2. Jim S

Jim S Gold Supporting Member