Fractal Audio Axe-FX - this thing is a Monster

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scott Peterson

TGP Co-Founder and Administrator
Staff member
Finally.

The Axe-FX is for real. All of it. It's the delivery of the promise I've wanted to believe, and I've tried to create over the years. It's a monster rig in a box. No corners cut, nothing to workaround. No excuses. No apologies. No qualifiers. It is Reality V.2.

Skip the 'modeling' thing. Skip the 'emulation' thing. Skip the tubes vs. everything else. It's simply game over. There is now a very real and viable alternative to tube amps. Better or worse? That's up to you. The point is that there is now a VERY real tone rig out there that really does it all.

First, some context. I've been playing guitar since 1981 or so. Been in bands pretty much since 1982. Done mostly rock, then alternative rock, roots rock, funk, blues, country, soul, R&B, and alt-country. I was a co-writer, co-producer, and guitarist in a regionally successful alt-rock band in the mid-90's in the Midwest. I've wrote, recorded and released a solo instrumental CD that I put out in 2001. I've played covers and originals on national stages at outdoor festivals to thousands and from little corners on the floor in a bar where 1 drunk was ignoring us. Ego isn't my trip, I am not a flash player and more a dedicated player in it for love of playing guitar than a wanna-be, never-was, or has-been. Or maybe I am all three of those too. :D

In the past few years, from my mid-30's on, I've tried to expand my musical horizons and play other genre's. I've been in a funk covers band, backed singers doing R&B, Motown, Soul, Pop, Rock, alt-country. Done duo's acoustically with just a singer besides myself. Playing solo guitar for wedding ceremonies.