Free-Way 10 Position Switch on American Standard

goldenboy

I have a 93 Amercian Standard Strat that I would like to install the Free-Way 5 position 10 way switch. The guitar has the stock TBX tone system where the lower tone knob works works on the bridge pickup, unlike the traditional wiring. I am wondering if after installation, the Free-Way switch can be wired so that the bridge would still be connected to the TBX pot.

I have spent a couple of years building pedals, starting as a complete noob, but modding guitars is new to me. I just finished my first ever pickup replacement and mod an another strat.

Here is the switch:

Here is the wring diagram (I would be doing the "SSS Parallel Series Scheme A 1V/2T")

goldenboy

Here's the same wiring with the middle PU tone being jettisoned for bridge tone. (SSS Scheme A2 1V/2T)
https://www.freewayswitch.com/schematics-blade/
Click on the PDF under
5B5-01 Model - Schemes for SSS / HSS Guitar
3 Pickups & 3 Pots (2)
5B5-01 3 Pot (N & B Tones) Part 1.pdf
Oh I didn't see that. Thanks.

But I guess what I'm wondering is if there is a way to have all 3 pickups connected to a tone pot. Some jumper wire that would make on pot for the bridge and middle, and the other pot for the neck. Or vice versa.

bigtone23

Oh I didn't see that. Thanks.

But I guess what I'm wondering is if there is a way to have all 3 pickups connected to a tone pot. Some jumper wire that would make on pot for the bridge and middle, and the other pot for the neck. Or vice versa.
You could try a jumper from BH to MH on that tone control. Not sure how it works on a Free-way, though.

...Some jumper wire that would make on pot for the bridge and middle, and the other pot for the neck. Or vice versa...
It's not obvious how. I doubt that it can be done with that switch because it would mess up the serial/parallel switching - a common tone pot would tie the hot output wires together and prevent serial connection.