Frenzel Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Gibson 1964, Aug 10, 2008.

1. Gibson 1964

Gibson 1964 Member

I have been playing for around 15 years now and I have had some good gear. A friend introduced me to frenzel amps and I have been hooked ever since. I was curious what the general perception around here is on them. I own a hotbox wildcat 30 and the frenzel champ pro.

I have to say, they seem to me to be light years ahead of the other amps I have played but far more affordable. I use the champ as a bedroom amp and the wildcat giging out all through an avatar 1x12 with a celestion gold.

I wish they had a true high gain amp to add to the collection.

Are there any ohter comparable bang for buck amps out there? I mean, who the heck heard of a Frenzel except by word of mouth.

2. mohowski

mohowski Member

How close can you get to a chimey AC-30ish tone with that Hotbox Wildcat 30? What speakers are you using with it.

I first saw the Frenzels on Ebay, and I'm really thinking about getting a Frenzel Hotbox Ac-15 or Wildcat but I really don't like the way they look (silly reason to not buy an amp, i know). I'll probably end up getting the Hotbox Ac-15 and building a tolex cab for it.

3. XKnight

XKnight Member

I had a Frenzel 5E3 and loved it. However, I don't gig and found the 25 watts it produced to be more than I need. I couldn't get the real tone benefits of the amp at home volumes. I ended up getting a Gries 5 and it sounds very similar to the Frenzel except I can get it to crunch at home volumes with no problem. The cleans on both amps are stellar.

4. XGodfree43X

XGodfree43X Member

I have a BUD 50 and along with an OD808, it's as high gain as you can ever want. I have a VHT Deliverance and early Mesa Racktifier and the Frenzel is by far my favorite tone out of all three.

I would LOVE to find a BUD or MMX2 100.

5. mcgriff420

mcgriff420 Member

6. Gargoyle

Gargoyle Member