Fret Crimper and Fret Barber

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by turtleboy3, Jan 9, 2018.

1. turtleboy3

turtleboy3 Member

What do you guys think of fret crimper and fret barber from stewmac? Im a newbie and just interested to know if you guys find these tools really helpful and Necessary? Or you guys have your own Diy tools to do it?

What do you think?

Thanks

2. wox

wox Supporting Member

For the record, I'm nowhere near the most experienced fretworker on this board, but in my experience fretting electric guitar necks, they are not necessary.

They would be used on old guitars with no truss rods where you had to strategically "fret in" backbow with compression fretting, and could be useful if you encountered enlarged slots on a neck that has been refretted numerous times. Glue is also your friend on slightly oversized fret slots.

I've encountered tight fret slots, and will hit them with a couple passes of a slotting saw to clean them out and open them up to a standard size.

3. KGWagner

KGWagner Member

I've been doing frets for a long time and have never found a use for those tools. I think Wox is right - they're more for playing games with older non-adjustable necks, which I rarely take in. People are funny about old guitars, so I tend to avoid them.

Probably why I could never be a veterinarian, either. Just spent a good part of a day at a veterinary emergency clinic last weekend, and if you wanna see some people losing their minds... People aren't that crazy in human emergency rooms, fer crissakes!

4. Jack Daniels

Jack Daniels Supporting Member

I will offer another opinion. I use both of them a lot.

The fret barber is great when your new fret tang is larger than the slot. Even a few thousand difference will cause the neck to bow. You have two choices when this happens. Enlarge the slot (not easy if it’s bound) or trim the barbs on the tang so if fits properly.