Fret leveling - string tension or not? AND, how to work on a compound radius?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by Lavely, Jan 18, 2015.

1. Lavely

Lavely Silver Supporting Member

I am new to fretwork, but I have been playing a long time. I hope to build up my knowledge on fretwork and build a few guitars, plus maintain my arsenal.

My general question is around the "recommended process" for fret leveling, crowning & polishing. If I acquire a used or new guitar, I want to make it play its best. I understand I need to think about nuts, setup, etc., but this post is focused on "How do I go about making the frets the best they can be"?

I don't think I will be buying a contraption that puts "string-like pressure" on my necks. WITHOUT this contraption, it sounds like some folks will ink the frets, then go over them with a radius block with sandpaper. Others will use a long narrow block, maybe an inch wide, cover it with sandpaper, and level the frets this way.

FIRST QUESTION - I am having trouble getting to my question, which is basically "do you have to have string tension in order to do this"? Or, is there debate about whether you really need string tension to do the fretwork? Do you first get the neck "perfectly straight" using the truss rod and measured by one of the rulers with notches for frets? Or, how else do you do this first "fret leveling" process without a string-tension contraption?

SECOND RELATED QUESTION - If I have a compound radius fretboard, is a straight edge with sandpaper a much better method than radius blocks? Or, should I use start with one radius block, move to another, then maybe move to a third or fourth block as I move along the fretboard?

Once the initial leveling is done, I think I understand the process:

1 - Bevel & round fret ends
    2 - Ink frets again
    3 - Crown frets
    4 - Polish frets

Now, understanding is different from "able to do it", and I know it will take time...

Joe Lavely