Fretting hand index finger pain

motis1953

Left hand index finger opens fine but won't close due to pain in second knuckle (from fingertip). At the base of that knuckle, it feels like I'm being stabbed with a hot needle. Also there appears to be what I'm guessing is a swollen flexor tendon right in the center of that knuckle. Looks like a vein that's popped out or something. Anybody experience a similar problem? I've been munching fish oil, bromelain, glucosamine/MSM/chondroitin, and turmeric for a couple weeks with no real change. In two weeks I've scheduled an appointment with a hand Doctor with possible trigger finger surgery if deemed appropriate. I am a touring professional and am quite freaked out about the whole thing but it's getting almost too painful to play. Any helpful advice from aging guitar geezers?

musicman1

MD needed for your situation.

I had bi-lateral CTS surgeries in 2007. I've been fine ever since but I have to warn you that it took MANY weeks before I was able to play.

My left hand suffers from some wrist tendonitis here and there but that's my own fault from doing too much cycling.

Digits_Only

If it hurts that acutely, I'd stop playing (or using that finger) altogether. Keeping on using it will probably only make things worse. I hope your rock n roll doctor has the cure. Good luck!

Analog Dog

I started playing open A chords with my third finger instead of index because of the pain in my index at the middle knuckle. Getting old sucks. I hope the doctor can do something for you.

Tommy Biggs

Gold Supporting Member
Go to the Doctor.
Look up some hand. wrist and forearm stretches. Do 'em gently and consistently.
As mentioned, getting old sucks.
Stretching has helped me though.

kcprogguitar

Don't listen to the old wives tale remedies. Make a Dr appointment in the morning. The sooner you do, the sooner you have a solution.

motis1953