• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Friedman Runt vs Bogner Shiva?

Tele81

I currently own a el34 Shiva which I love. For those of you that have had/played both how do they compare? I'm not a high gain guy and love the mid gain tones the shiva gives up and it has great cleans. How does the clean channel of the runt compare? How about the low~mid gain tones? All these runt threads have me gassing pretty hard just not 100% I ant to move the shiva along just yet...

jvstrat

BoogiemanSc on this forum had a shiva and got rid of it after getting the runt. I have no experience with the shiva, but I have the runt 20 head and I love it.

Tele81

BoogiemanSc on this forum had a shiva and got rid of it after getting the runt. I have no experience with the shiva, but I have the runt 20 head and I love it.
I read that. I've played the runt 20 and was very very impressed. It did the hotrodded Marshall thing very well. Id like to hear from people who've done the side by side thing. While the Friedman is very impressive I'm not sure it has the shiva beat in the clean department. Although very different the smooth low mids of the shiva are addicting it'll be a big leap for me to do the swap.

JES1680

Silver Supporting Member
What sixrails said. Shiva OD channel is more scooped than the Runt IMO great sounding but the Runt is more Marshall than the Shiva. I gigged a Shiva for a few years and it was great. I do prefer the more mid focused M sound of the Runt though.

ledzep618

Hard to go wrong with either, and I've only spent a small amount of time with a Shiva but from what I remember I'd take the Runt.

The Runt is the first channel switcher I've played where the two channels sound like they were voiced to compliment each other.

dpgreek

Silver Supporting Member