Fun little blue NBD: My first Ibanez

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by StratoCraig, Dec 29, 2017.

1. StratoCraig

StratoCraig Member

I've been playing guitar and bass for over 35 years, but in all that time I have never owned an Ibanez. As of a couple of days ago, I now have one.

I had been seeing comments on various forums from happy owners of the Ibanez GSRM20 Mikro bass, a lightweight instrument with a PJ pickup configuration and an unusually short 28.6" scale. GC's web site told me that their price was $179, which struck me as pretty low for a quality instrument, and that the store nearest me had one in stock. I had a 15% off coupon, too, which cut the price to a little over $150. I mentioned it to my wife, not thinking we'd buy it, but to my surprise she was interested in checking it out for herself. The Mikro not only has a very short scale, but also a very narrow neck that fits her hand well. She liked it.

My own opinion was more favorable than I had expected. The Mikro is a well-made instrument. Ours has no sharp fret ends, no sign of sloppy fret slot cutting, a good finish, controls that feel right, and tuners that work well and smoothly. The sound it makes isn't bad at all. It needed a bit of setup work, as almost any guitar does when you buy it at GC, so once we got it home I added some neck relief to eliminate fret buzzing (the neck was almost perfectly flat) and adjusted the action and intonation. It now plays quite well.

Here it is:

[​IMG]

The one thing I might still like to do is give it a slightly heavier set of strings. The ones that came on it, according to my micrometer, are .040", .060", .075", .095", and while I wouldn't call them floppy (they're nowhere near as loose as the factory-supplied 6th string on a Squier VM Bass VI), I would like a little more tension. However, the nut slots appear to have been cut for exactly those gauges, so I think I would have to open them up a bit even to use a .045"-.100" set.