G&L Asat are some of these just duds?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by 69mojostrat, Feb 23, 2006.

1. 69mojostrat

69mojostrat Member

Man I have a friend who bought one special order that had me look at it (I am a gutiar tech) and for the life of me this thing, is dead when it comes to sustain, or resonating. And the bridge pickup is microphonic. I read on HC that the microphonic pickup is a common problem. Anyone have any input? thanks

J

2. crazy4blues

crazy4blues Member

It's entirely possible, and there's no excuse for a special order like that. I've owned about 20 different ASATs, and they were all a little different. Some were definitely better than others.

Currently, I have a semi-hollow that has some very nice sustain. It also has something of growl-like bloom in the lower part of the neck. The only issues are a little bit of fret buzz and some "fretting out" on some of the upper frets (15th-17th), but it's not unacceptable for such a short-radius neck.

3. gkoelling

gkoelling Member

If the pickup is microphonic your friend should go back to the dealer and ask him to get a replacement. G&L will take care of him.

4. 1-Take-Wonder

1-Take-Wonder Member

+1. They'll do him right. Bum pickups happen every now and then.

The sustain/resonance issues are odd. I own an ASAT Classic and have played tons of G&Ls and have found them to be one of the most consistent makers out there.

I suppose it could be in what you're used to. My Classic is Swamp Ash, making it brighter and probably more resonant than other ASATs I've played, but it was more about wood choices and preference than one being "better" than the other.

Their finishes are bulletproof (read thick) so I suppose if you're used to paper-thin nitro then there may be a muting effect due to the finish...

that all I can think of...maybe its a just a dud, everyone has bad days.

5. Scott Cioe

Scott Cioe Member

I have never run into a dud, but certainly some have been better than others.