1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

G&L ASAT (tele) pickup question

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by musickbox, Jul 4, 2006.

1. musickbox

musickbox Supporting Member

Hey, I am hopefully going to be the new owner of a G&L ASAT classic, thanks to the gearpage emporioum. I am thinking ahead of changing the pickups. Now I am new at tele world, so I need direction not necessarily specific models (unless you know exactly what I am going for). I know I definite want a vintage tone. Now I have heard many terms like "nocaster" "broadcaster", etc. I have no idea what these mean in terms of sounds. Therefore I will explain what I am trying to achieve. In the neck I definitely want a clean chime. Very Coldplay, maybe a little on the hot side without losing the chime. Also very Edge "where the streets have no name" type sound. The bridge however I need more of a rock sound (more of a hot strat single coil). Also I am a big fan of the David Gilmour tone (even though he uses a strat not a tele). So the general sound is hot tele pickups with a lot of clean chime to it, but not tooooo thin sounding. i have been a humbucker man for awhile and realize that this is a completely different sound. The artists that I mention are sounds that I run into that I wish I can play with my Heritage h157, but It doesn't sound the same. I have played on teles that have nailed those sounds, so thats why I bought one. Like I said I need some direction. Anyways let me know if you guys need to know more of what I want or gear or whatever you need to know. Thanks.

Yannick

2. DaveG

DaveG Gold Supporting Member

The ASAT Classics have some nice sounding pickups; they are wound a little hotter, and sound like what you're looking for. My suggestion would be to leave the stock pups in & just play it for a while before you decide to change them... you might find they're perfect as is!

3. Mrjoelv