• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

G12H 75 Creamback or G12T 75?

WillisChill

What's up cats? I need some solid advice on a speaker upgrade I'm going to be doing.

I currently have an Egnater Tourmaster 2x12 cab that I've always liked for a number of reasons. Decent tone, solid build quality, and a classy look (blonde and black with tweedish type grill cloth). However, I have recently grown tired of the tone ever since I started playing through a Marshall 1960 cab every week at my rehearsal space with my band. The cab pairs really well with both my Blackstar ht-100 and my Orange Dual Terror. I did a little research and found that the speakers in this cab (and also in the 2x12 version) are Celestion G12T 75's. The speakers that I currently have in the Egnater are Celestion Elite 80s that came stock. The Elite 80s don't sound nearly as warm and punchy as the G12T's; instead they sound thinner, seem to have harsher highs and mids, and lack the low end punch that I want out of a speaker.

I'm pretty much sold on the G12T-75's but while I was browsing the Celestion website I saw that they make a G12H-75 Creamback which seems to be similarly voiced but with a little bit more to offer. So now I'm torn between the two types of speakers.

So I'm looking for a couple things here...

Does anyone have experience with both types of speakers and could make a recommendation on which I should go for?

If I loved the tone of the regular G12T-75's do you think I'd like the creambacks more?

Looking forward to hearing some solid advice/feedback

Thanks,
Will

Before setting my mind on anything I'd do some extensive research on where I wanted to go with my tone. There are other speakers than the T75 and H75. There are other brands of speakers as well, so I wouldn't make a short list on a whim.

The H magnet, higher power version of the current T75 would be the K100 if it matters.