• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

GarageBand-like app for PC?

SideBMusic

As part of my curriculum at school I teach some song construction with GarageBand. Is there a comparable application for PC? Some of my students have PC's at home. Audacity comes to mind, but I have never liked it myself (I'm a Logic Pro user)... not very intuitive and it lacks song loops to work with (we use GarageBand in the classroom so students can create music without knowing how to play an instrument.)

WoodenDuckMaker

Microsoft Songsmith
Only kidding.

I was needing to ask the same question as you. I ended up just purchasing a mid 2012 11" Macbook Air in very nice condition off of Craigslist for $300, just for Garage Band, and it's worth every penny, as it's also a very good travel laptop. I've used Fruity Loops, and other programs, but none of the programs on PC are as intuitive, easy to use, yet as capable, as Garage Band. Plus I really wanted to have integration with my iPhone/iPad Garage Band. If I am away from home, and left my laptop behind, but inspiration strikes, I can get down ideas on my iphones garage band, then continue/transfer it to my macbooks garage band.

SideBMusic

Microsoft Songsmith
Only kidding.

I was needing to ask the same question as you. I ended up just purchasing a mid 2012 11" Macbook Air in very nice condition off of Craigslist for $300, just for Garage Band, and it's worth every penny, as it's also a very good travel laptop. I've used Fruity Loops, and other programs, but none of the programs on PC are as intuitive, easy to use, yet as capable, as Garage Band. Plus I really wanted to have integration with my iPhone/iPad Garage Band. If I am away from home, and left my laptop behind, but inspiration strikes, I can get down ideas on my iphones garage band, then continue/transfer it to my macbooks garage band.
:roll :facepalm LOL!