Get Ibanez Andy Timmons or modifying my MIA strat?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by thiago_m, Feb 4, 2015.

1. thiago_m

thiago_m Member

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting on a guitar forum after been using them for advice for ages!

I would like your opinion on a buying a new guitar vs modifying my existing guitar.

I have always been after Andy Timmons tone! (like many of you). I have a BB Preamp, a fairly versatile Mesa Boogie amp (Mark V 25), bunch of delay pedals, etc.

My next step would be to buy his signature model guitar! However I already have 3 strats (AVRI, John Mayer Signature and Am Stand Maple Fret.) and getting a new guitar would mean selling one of my guitars!

So my idea was to just buy his pickups and put them on my Am Standard strat! How close do you guys think I would get to his tone? How good do those Dimarzio Cruisers and At-1 sound on a fender strat?

Since my strats buzz like hell in my apartment ( single coil buzz is crazy where I live and my gear works fine in other places), I thought that these pickups would also get rid of the hum on one of my guitars! This would be cool because some moments playing single coil pickups at home is just too noisy.

In summary, selling my strat and getting his signature model (Prestige or Premium Used) vs just buying new pickups? What do you think? Will I get closer to his tone? Or might these pickups sound strange in my strat?

2. Kelly

Kelly Member

Id get the pickups. I have the at-1 in my prs and like it.

3. Mangy71

Mangy71 Member

The Timmons guitar is constructed very much like a Strat. It has bigger frets and a narrower neck, but the tone of his guitar would be very close to your Fender. If you like the way your Strat plays and feels, then I would install the pickups.

4. gulliver

gulliver Member

I had an AT-1 in my strat, was my favorite high output pickup ... although, I have since standardized on all PAF types.