Getting my first Amp. Need help with pedals.

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Eveland, Jan 29, 2012.

1. Eveland

Eveland Member

So, I have been an active musician in a "scene" for around 6 years and the funny thing is, I have never owned an amp. I'm usually broke or in need of something important. Anyway, I found an excellent deal on a Fender Blues Deluxe. I haven't played it and may not before I buy it. I will take a trusted ears advice. I am afraid that it will not be ballsy enough. I know nothing about gear and definitely not pedals but I think I will able to budget two now and definitely more in the future so I wanted to take it to some people with experience. What should I get now and in the future? I was thinking a Boss DS-1 per another recommendation. I want my guitar sound to be like Kurt Vile, Deerhunter, War on Drugs, Dungen(very much so), My Bloody Valentinesque... I like classic rock Tom Petty, Beatles, Stones, Big Star(Tone wise especially).... Help! ha. (I might add that I have no budget for an electric either. I play a ****** Epiphone Les Paul that has been damaged a bit. I also own the John Lennon Epiphone acoustic/electric and another ****** acoustic electric. A guitar will be a near future purchase juxtaposed by pedal purchases)

Hey Now!

2. jcmark611

jcmark611 Member

Two very important rules:

1. Never buy an amp you haven't played.

2. Never buy a pedal you haven't played.

You're just wasting your money if you do not follow those rules.

3. snouter

snouter Member

Well pedals are no big deal really to buy and return from a reputable dealer if there is a problem. But amps are expensive to ship. Fender Blues Deluxe are quite good at small club volumes. Tone and feel improves if you swap out the stock speaker with something better.

4. partsocaster

partsocaster Member