Gibson ES-339 or CS-336

To make a long story short; I need help from you guys.

I've been contemplating these for about 2 years now. I've played a CS-336 but never an ES-339. Inital reaction was it sounded a bit dull and since I didn't have a strap to play it standing up, I wasn't sure about the balance. You can never judge anything by a first reaction or generalize a model based on an individual guitar.

Today I'm open to either one as I've revisited by 335 days and concluded the body is too wide for me. I've had several historic LP's and a historic SG (which I absolutely love all of them) and had a 1972 ES-335 and recent ES-335 '63 block neck. The 335's just didn't do it for me.

I'm having a hard time trying to figure out what a CS-336 sounds like. Is it like a chamber LP?

Since I can't figure out a way to do a search on this forum for either guitar, can you tell me your impressions on which one you prefer. They are not plentiful even in southern California so I seek your knowledge. Just looking for input to satisfy my curiosity.

Any cool videos or sound bites would also be great.

Last edited:

Strat

I LOVE the 336 - Love it to death. You can see adn hear mine on the Minnieapolis Amp fest thread. body is just a great size . Note - it does NOT sound just like a 335 - I think it sounds better than my mid 66 335.

treeofpain

Gold Supporting Member
The 336 and 339 look similar, but they are totally different guitars. The 336 sounds more like a Les Paul, especially the chambered ones. The 339 is much more in the 335 family of tones. So it depends on what sound you are after.

rickc007

Gold Supporting Member
I've had both, there is a bit of diff in tone just between two 336s

The are a bit more boxey, honky sounding than the average 335

The 339s to me sounded a little more open/airy slighty thinner tone than the 336s I played
But they are in the same ball park

1radicalron