Gibson Songmaker Series CSM Acoustic Guitar

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by RicOkc, Jan 12, 2019.

1. RicOkc

RicOkc Member

My luthier friend has one of these in his shop for what I think is a pretty decent price w/orig. HSC.

I've read what I could find online about the series. I'm primarily an electric guitarist, but would like to get a inexpensive acoustic for around the house.

Anyone have experience on these guitars? I've read about all the spec's and where they were made, just want some opinions on this model.

Thanks!

2. snakestretcher

snakestretcher Member

Yes, I played a couple of these Garrison-built guitars around 10 years ago. If you want my opinion they were frankly awful, and the line quickly sank without trace, for which Gibson should be grateful. They are capable of building great guitars; sadly these were far from good, leave alone great. Sorry if you had set your heart on one, but I'm being honest with my opinion.

3. OM Flyer

OM Flyer Member

Was that one of those made-in-Canada models they tried selling at Best Buy about ten years ago? I've never seen one or played one -- they might be great -- but move slow until you get the lowdown. There are LOTS of inexpensive acoustics out there that carry less risk.

4. RicOkc

RicOkc Member

Thanks for your honest opinion!

It's like really cheap....$250.

I'm surprised considering the quality of the woods used in the construction of these guitars. Although I didn't know that the necks are bolt-on.

Anyone else?

Last edited: Jan 13, 2019
  5. snakestretcher

snakestretcher Member

Bottom line-irrespective of my or anyone else's opinion-if it sounds and feels good to you then the only arbiter can be you. $250 probably reflects how the market values the Songmakers...

6. snakestretcher

snakestretcher Member

Yes, that's the guitar series in question.

7. slooky

slooky Member

2 hundred and fifty for an all solid wood acoustic. That is a bargain. I would definitely buy it.