give me an example of JTM45 tone

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Andy_T, Jul 10, 2006.

1. Andy_T

Andy_T Member

Can anyone point out an example of good JTM45 tone on an album? Maybe a certain artist's general tone who used JTM45s?

2. Teleplayer

Teleplayer Silver Supporting Member

Clapton - Mayall and the Bluesbreakers - Beano album

Marshall JTM45 2x12 "Bluesbreaker" combo

3. karmadave

karmadave Member

I think a lot of Angus Young's work on the early AC/DC albums was JTM45.

Clapton and Peter Green in Mayall's Bluesbreakers too...

4. big mike

big mike Moderator - EL34 Emeritas Staff Member

All the really stellar examples right there. Though there are many more, my fave is 'All your love (I miss loving)' from the Beano album.

5. jezzzz2003

jezzzz2003 Member

Gary More, Still got the blues.

6. ericb

ericb Silver Supporting Member

I don't ever follow pro guitarists' setups so I'm no expert on this, but for any JTM45 to sound like Still got the blues, you need a pedal. Someone else who's more of an expert can verify that!!! I had the stock JTM45 RI for quite some time since the early 90's and then got it modded to the old vintage values, and POST-MOD that amp is as nice as anything I have .. It's beautiful sounding... Has some of the best cleans ever imo, and great glassy crunch and great on-the-verge-of -blowup rich od when dimed. It's not as fluid as "Still got the blues" though but sounds like that with many of the od's I can throw in front of it... Stock , the JTM45 RI was very nice , but sounded more bassmanish and was a pedal base... Modded they sound great. I've never tried any of the other clones, NOR have I tried a 60's version so that's the extent of my experience.. I've had mine abuot 12-13 years now and will never sell it.

ERIC

7. datguytim

datguytim Supporting Member

Old AC/DC - Let There Be Rock, Powerage, etc.

8. Andy_T

Andy_T Member