Giving up on the Band Thang

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by mikeguy53, Jun 2, 2015.

1. mikeguy53

mikeguy53 Member

I'm sure there have probably been other posts like this so bear with me...Last few gigs just were not much fun. A hell of a lot of work for very little enjoyment. I started playing in bands when I was 12 years old. We knew 2 and 1/2 songs at a junior high dance. I think someone on the football team threw something at us. It was a start of a long trip. I'll be 62 this year and the last two gigs...while everyone (except the bass player) played well it just didn't happen for me. I still practice hours a day and take lessons with Larry Coryell who lives nearby. The lessons are amazing. I'm still into learning after a degree at Berklee, Classical guitar at Aspen...I would say I'm getting old but I love the instrument and can't learn enough...but the band thang has just gotten old...and sad.

2. chillybilly

chillybilly Member

I sympathize but even playing 18 holes at Augusta National on a frequent basis for years on end would eventually get to be old hat. Mental, physical and/or emotional exhaustion are always distinct possibilities in longtime endeavors.

If you take a break and are satisfied with your decision then you've made the right one. If you find yourself missing it then at least you will have regained some enthusiasm for something you previously enjoyed and can reengage with.

Last edited: Jun 2, 2015
    conanb, NoQuarter and mikeguy53 like this.
  3. CDP

CDP Member

It's a dusty road, for sure. But find yourself a singer (if you can't sing) and go ACOUSTIC DUO!!!

Play the coffee shop circuit, do the local open mic's and just plain have fun! Write a few, cover a few and record a few. Don't worry about the pay, honestly who gives a ****?
    If it's about your playing guitar and being out in front of people, that's the way to go. When the right 'full band' presents itself you'll be ready.

4. DrumBob