GMD "Luther Drive" .....A winner in my book !!

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by SteelerFan88, Feb 15, 2012.

1. SteelerFan88

SteelerFan88 Member

I'll tell ya'...... I have been playing guitar and trying gear for over 25+ years and have owned many, many effects, gadgets & gizmos and wish I could have back just 1/10'th of the money I have spent over the years! I have VERY expensive & particular tastes when it comes to my music gear and have never been a very "thrifty" shopper towards my hobby. I own an early version of the Klon (gold horse) and I was able to do an intensive A/B comparison between the two this morning. I just recieved a used Luther last week and have been enjoying it very much. I put both pedals head to head through my Victoria Tweed deluxe and a Dulce 18w 1974x and was really surprised at the results ! I play PRS guitars exclusively and to my ears the Luther "cut" through a little better in my opinion. I do think that if one is playing through a lesser quality amplifier, the Klon will better improve the overall tone of the rig (thicker/full sound) but when pairing a high quality guitar and a top shelf amp, the Luther brings a little more clarity/chime to the table. I have owned my Klon for many years and did not pay the insane price they fetch now. I paid $300.00 used for mine back in the late 90's. I know that tone & feel are relative to who's playing the device(s) but for me the Luther Drive is every bit as well made and sounds great ! I have always been a "Tubescreamer' lover and I think GMD has done a very nice job on his Luther drive. Those of you on the fence about the Luther......have no fear.....it's a GREAT "Screamer" box but with a tad more clarity (brighter) with a tad less hump in the midrange. The Klon is a great effect as well but I do not think it is worth all the hype & $$$$:omg they are getting. I will hang on to mine a few more years then sell it and laugh all the way to the bank ! Over the years I have