1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

Going to experiment with KT88 tubes...never had any...what do I need to know???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by clay49, May 16, 2011.

1. clay49

clay49 Silver Supporting Member

I've got an Egnater Renegade head that I may want to try some KT88 tubes in, but I've never used KT88's before.

Tell me what to look for, both NOS and new production, good, bad, ugly...give me the scoop!

I prefer clear, articulate sounds (play mostly OD mode), so steer me toward the ones that are crispy and snappy, not dark or murky.

Thanks!

2. clay49

How 'bout it, boys?

3. small axe

small axe Member

kt88s are 6550 in the us. great tubes. can find a good variety of nos at www.kcanostubes.com but they are expensive. great clear tone and can be pushed real hard. 70s marshalls that can stateside had them in em. good luck

4. clay49

Yeah...I'm having sticker shock as I enter this "neighborhood" for the first time. Matched quads running anywhere from $150-$500 for new production...I don't think I'm even going to consider NOS!

5. OldSchool

OldSchool Senior Member

I have a louis Electric amp I'll be sending to him for repairs soon as I can afford it . (Just bought traded 3 guitars)[​IMG] Anyhow Its running 6L6's and I was going to have him switch over to EL34's, but I'm going to see if i could go KT's myself. I think I may stick with KT66's though. What is the difference really between 66' 77's and 88's? :huh

6. clay49

I haven't a clue...hopefully someone more knowledgeable will meander by any moment and take us to school on this!!!:aok

7. xtian

xtian Member

I played a JJ KT88 in my SEL. Very nice...but didn't compare it to any others!

8. Rod

Rod Tone is Paramount Silver Supporting Member