Good Basses on a Budget

Discussion in 'Bass Area; The Bottom Line' started by leej1019, Jan 25, 2012.

1. leej1019

leej1019 Member

This is my first post actually.
    I'm actually a guitarist but looking to get into bass a bit.
    Any suggestions for a good decent bass for someone who's trying bass out in general?

2. CA_Dan

CA_Dan Member

You can't go wrong with a classic vibe squier. They are are real value and are as good or better than a lot of the MIM fender stuff. I have the classic vibe jazz and love it as much as my american deluxe PJ. Rondos are cheap and sound ok but the fret work is pretty low quality on the one I purchased.

3. 9fingers

9fingers Supporting Member

Keep your eyes open. I got a USA Guild Pilot (P/J passive) from the Emporium here for under $250 shipped. My $1K + basses are sitting gathering dust while I play the Pilot - very nice bass!
    If you go new, yes to the Squire Classic Vibe or Vintage Modifieds.

4. Hard2Hear

Hard2Hear Member

I had a cheap MIK Tobias Toby Pro that I stupidly sold. Those play like a much more expensive bass. I also really like the MusicMan SUB basses. They can be found for pretty good deals used too.

I'm not a fan of Fender basses myself, cheap or expensive.

5. rob2001

rob2001 Member

Mexican P or J.

6. Toogy

Toogy Member

As I said in another post, Squier Vintage Modified P-Bass! It plays great, & sounds great! And looks pretty good as well!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

7. sidewinder IV

sidewinder IV Member

Squire Classic Vibe series. Love my Blonde 50's Precision.

8. musicofanatic5

musicofanatic5 Supporting Member

If you light your Cuban cigars with fifty dollar bills, buy a new bass. Otherwise, one of the Squires mentioned above, purchased used, is your best bet.

9. leej1019

leej1019 Member

Thanks for the advice. I think I'll keep an eye out for a used CV Jazz Bass

10. V-Type

V-Type Member

I just started on bass.