Good distortion pedal with a Plexi sound?

Turbo911

I liked the quality of Wampler Plextortion for JCM800 sound. What good distortion boxes could I try for an older Marshall Super Lead Plexi 1959 sound? I'd like to go with Wampler, but it's unclear to me if any of them deliver that sound?

DB.1992

I know that DMB pedals do a pedal called the ''Lexi Drive'' , supposed to be ''Plexi-ish voiced'' but not entirely sure if its the sound you're after. Brett Kingman does some great demo vids on youtube, See what yaa' think.

johnh

I'm not an expert on Marshall tones, but I have a Rockett Animal, and it sounds Plexi-like to me.

Echoes

Lovepedal purple plexi 100 is great for the old school Marshall tone and feel.

FLYING V 83

Gibson Geezer
I've had the PlexiDrive, Super Plextortion, and Plextortion from Wampler.
Also had the new CM Plexitone single (running alongside the Plextortion).
All gone now except the 5-knob Plextortion. To my ears, that's the sound I want.

RCM78

I just got a Carl Martin Plexitone (Single Channel) and it's pretty amazing!!! It's sitting next to a Wampler Pinnacle, and Bogner Red. All three of these are great in their own right but the Plexitone gives you that raw old marshall crunch... LOVE IT!!!

LPMojoGL

Music Room Superstar
Silver Supporting Member
I'm happy with the Bogner Blue for that application. Sounds remarkably close to my cranked Germino.

oxtone

I'm happy with the Bogner Blue for that application. Sounds remarkably close to my cranked Germino.
I just used my Bogner Blue today, and it ROCKED! I goose it with a Paul C. Timmy in front of it, and it is overdrive heaven! It is simply the best overdrive pedal I have ever owned, and I've owned MANY.

SReynolds

Silver Supporting Member
I just used my Bogner Blue today, and it ROCKED! I goose it with a Paul C. Timmy in front of it, and it is overdrive heaven! It is simply the best overdrive pedal I have ever owned, and I've owned MANY.
I'll second this. The thing amazes me.

sladest