Good little digital 4 or 8 track

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by le_plastique, Feb 2, 2006.

1. le_plastique

le_plastique Member

Hello, I'm new to this recording stuff, I was planning on getting a computer setup but the way things have been going lately I'll have to hold off. Anywho, can anyone recommend a good 4 track or maybe even an 8 track somewhere around 300 that is pretty nifty? Something with an internal hard drive would be ideal. Any thoughts and opinions would be appreciated.

2. Red Ant

Red Ant Member

The new Boss BR-900CD is basically what you want - 8 tracks, CD burner - its a bit more than 300 bucks though. If you're serious about looking into it or equivalent, email me at antonp@westlakepro.com and i can hook you up :D

3. Red Ant

Red Ant Member

I wouldnt recommend the tascam - it has no CD burner, and doesnt sound all that great. But YMMV.

4. Jim Soloway

Jim Soloway Supporting Member

For $599 street that have a version with both digital effects and a CD burner.

As for the sound quality, I always wondered why they dumbed down their 8-track to 16-bit. I've been working with a 24-bit 788 for years and the sound quality is excellent. Eight tracks is really enough for me, but I do need the extra drive capacity and features of the DP-01. On the other hand, I'm not willing to give up the sound quality of the 788. I don't need a 24 track, but I'll probably end up getting the 2488 just to stay 24 bit.

And for the original poster, I'd seriously look at a used Tascam 788 and burner. You can pick them up for next to nothing and the sound quality is superb.

5. flicker180

flicker180 Member

6. jrm

jrm Member