Good, low watt, amp for recording ideas?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by DaveSemach, Mar 20, 2008.

1. DaveSemach

DaveSemach Member

So I've just discovered this website and I don't think you'll be hearing the last of me. Great place!

That being said...I'm 23, delivering pizzas for money, and live in an apartment. I don't see myself living in a more spacious environment anytime soon, but I've been working on home recording for a while. So far, I have a fender 120 watt amp that has been good, but I've never really liked the distorted tone. I've been using my line 6 POD XT Live for a while, and I like it alright, but I really want a good amp for recording and if I get a band together.

I've been playing for about 13 years and have good ears, but I'm not familiar with the sound of specific amps....just what I read.

I'm looking for a tube amp from 15 to 50 watts. I don't really care if its a combo or head. I use both a fender strat and a gibson les paul. I would like to spend less than $1300.

I would go to the store and have the staff help me choose, but I always feel like they direct me based on their stock (no Orange or Mesa), how much money I can spend "right now", and the commission they'd like to get.

Anybody have suggestions? Favorites? Ways to hear sound clips of favorites?

Dave

2. farlowhigh

farlowhigh Member

Dave,
    welcome to the Gear Page. You will find all kinds of great information here.
    It would be helpful if you posted what sort of music you like to play as that would affect people's recommendations.
    If you live in an apartment and would be playing there, I would advise not going over 20 watts and even a 5 watt tube amp has the potential to annoy apartment neighbors. That said, there are plenty of people around here who use high watt amps at low volumes in homes. It is obviously a matter of opinion about how many watts becomes too many in a given home situation.