Good Patch Cables......will I notice?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by sixstring531, Feb 1, 2008.

1. sixstring531

sixstring531 Supporting Member

Ok -- I have been playing for nearly 14 years now and am no professional. I am pretty sure I can hold my own in several circles as far as playing goes but like I said, I am no professional.

My question is -- Will I notice a tone difference or is the difference that noticeable if I used nice (like Georges) patch cables?

Let me know. Thanks friends.

2. occy87

occy87 Member

Yes. I saw a huge difference when I changed cables. I was using some basic cheap cables I had for years. When I did a comparison it was like taking cotton out of my ears. :BOUNCE

3. dB

dB Member

Out of curiosity, what brand did you switch to?

4. chandlerjenkins

chandlerjenkins Member

i just upgraded my whole board to george l's and im pretty sure i cried...they're unbelievably quiet...not kidding- when i turned my amp on it stayed completely quiet and i thought i had made a bad cable...turns out the cables were that good...yeah id post on the emporium, i picked a bunch up for cheap...thanks guys!

5. dB

dB Member

I'm looking to move up from George L's (which I've been using for years and have been happy) and am wondering if Lava or Evidence will be that much better.

6. zion

zion Supporting Member

Switched from GL's to Evidence. Is there enough difference to warrant the difference in price? At least to my ears with my rig, YES!

7. justonwo

justonwo Member

I noticed a big difference. But I switched from one extreme (Radio Shack) to the other (Lava ELC). More of the highs come through, so the sound is more sparkly. Low quality cable deadens the tone.

8. rockford

rockford Member

With really good patch cables, you get more of everything. Not just high end,
    it's a more satisfying experience.

9. sixstring531