• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Got a 4 way tele kit - wow!

Roccorobb

I'm relatively new to telecasters with the purchase of a CV tele and a dimarzio area t vintage set last year. When I installed the areas, I left in place the original switch and pots. My bride got me a wiring kit for Christmas which included a four way switch and new CTS pots. All I can say is wow. Not only is the fourth position very cool and usable, but all the other positions sound way better than before. It's the proverbial lifting off the blanket. Like "I just got a new set of pickups" different. Ive been at this for twenty something years and I had no idea switches and pots (of the same value) could affect tone so dramatically. Merry Christmas!

Ilduce

And now for something completely different!
Congrats! I to have a CV 50's Tele and have thought about changing the pups. Maybe all I'll need to do is upgrade the wiring!? Thanks for the info!

Roccorobb

Congrats! I to have a CV 50's Tele and have thought about changing the pups. Maybe all I'll need to do is upgrade the wiring!? Thanks for the info!
I would start there. I actually quite liked the tone of the stock pickups but after more than a decade with ONLY hum cancelling pickups I just couldn't handle the 60 cycles. Hence the Area set. Since the tele purchase I've also acquired a CV 50s Strat. It has stock pickups and new wiring, and I like it so much I've considered putting the stock pickups back in the tele. But I think the Area set will stay for now.

Fenders are guitars I could never bring myself to shell out big bucks for, since it seems the very ethos behind the design is good ol American utilitarian bang for buck. So when the CV series got good reviews I figured it was time to give the fender designs a try. I like the tele more than the Strat but it's nice to have a strat around for those times when it's just the sound you need. And my kids think it's the coolest

sfarnell