Got my first Gibson Les Paul today!

guitarfish

I've been playing for 10 years next month. I've been through lots of guitars, many of which I decided weren't for me. My Epi LP has grown on me, however, and I decided it was time to get the real deal. So I sold some guitars I don't use, searched the net, and found someone with a nice one for sale. The seller was about 240mi away, so we picked a meeting place and I picked it up today.
So here she is, a 2007 LP Standard in Iced Tea, 60s neck. Excellent, like new condition, gorgeous maple top. It plays like a dream, so effortless and smooth. It sounds like a canon - what power !! Still kinda speechless over this.
01-LP-Top1.jpg

06-LP-Instand.jpg

03-LP-Back.jpg

07-LP-Incase.jpg

JohnnyL

Congratulations!!! That is nice-Enjoy it.

I'll be the first to say...That back looks like a solid piece of mahogany. Check the guitar from the butt end. If there is no seam, consider yourself fortunate as far as avoiding a multi-piece back goes.

Take care,

Johnny

arfalax

That is a beaut! You found a real nice looking first Lester. It's so fun to get a guitar like that and go through the stages of how it plays as you learn it's intricacies. Big congrats!:BEER

guitarfish

Congratulations!!! That is nice-Enjoy it.

I'll be the first to say...That back looks like a solid piece of mahogany. Check the guitar from the butt end. If there is no seam, consider yourself fortunate as far as avoiding a multi-piece back goes.

Take care,

Johnny
I was going to ask about that! I watched "Some Assembly Required" on TV recently where they did a Gibson factory tour, and they said/showed the LP backs being 3 pieces glued together. There are NO seams on mine though. Not sure how I scored that, but yeah, that's hot!!

Birddog

Great looking guitar. Nice!

I'm getting my second LP this week (Desert Burst Standard). It's been on layaway and I can not wait!

humbuster

That is absolutley STUNNING!

Many Standards can still be found with 1 piece backs.