Great Clean/OD Combo that I Can Afford!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by BillyK, May 24, 2006.

1. BillyK

BillyK Supporting Member

I need the best suggestions you guys have for my next combo amp. I've been playing for nearly 40 years and I am not making my living at it any longer. I use Strats and a Tele through vintage Fender amps (SF Princeton Reverb, BF Deluxe Reverb).

I'd like to have a combo amp other than my "collectable" vintage amps for use outside my studio. I'd like an amp with GREAT Fender cleans, but with a GREAT lead channel offering usable OD/distortion. Speakers can be 10's or 12's. Output equal to my DR (22 watts) or higher would be good.

I know I can buy a Fuchs, or similar, but my budget will need to be under $1000 - that's where your sage suggestions come in to the picture. I have access to GC discounts in the 40-50% range, so that helps, and I have no problem going with used gear.

Combos I have recently looked into include:
    - Fender Super-Sonic
    - Fender Prosonic (used)
    - Mesa Studio 22+
    - Peavey Classic 30

Am I on the right track?

2. r9player

r9player Silver Supporting Member

A Carvin Bel Air comes to mind, with a speaker upgrade.

3. shoe

shoe Member

Peavey Classic 50

4. TaronKeim

TaronKeim Member

If you can get that discount on some used gear, try and score yourself a Bogner Shiva 6L6 model... fits pretty much exactly what you're looking for.

-TJK

5. jpervin

jpervin Supporting Member

6. opdev

opdev Member

Fender Super Sonic

7. BillyK

BillyK Supporting Member

Great feedback so far guys.
    Keep it coming!

8. mude

mude Supporting Member

Mesa Maverick would be worth a look IMO.

Evan.

9. Soundhound

Soundhound Member