Great SM57 and SM58 Mic Clones

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Tazmaniac, Jun 16, 2011.

1. Tazmaniac

Tazmaniac Member

A couple of years ago I was short on cash, needed a vocal mic fast and ordered a GLS Audio ESS-58 from Orange County Speaker for $24.99. Folks thought they were hearing a Shure SM58. It was a pleasant surprise so I then ordered their SM57 clone, the ESS-57, for $29.99. It was the same story.

Both of these are more than just okay mics for emergency backup, I still use mine for gigging and home recording. Both are pretty much identical to their Shure counterparts in tone, frequency response and construction quality. They're a bit flatter at the high end, which is easily corrected with a little EQ if you want it to perfectly mimic a Shure.

If you're thinking I have low standards, I'm primarily an acoustic musician and my gigging/recording gear is hi-fi and revealing: Roland AC90 acoustic amp w/XLR input; Hafler Trans-Nova P1300 stereo power amp; Mackie Onyx 1220i mixer; and upgraded ART tube preamps. My mic arsenal has grown--I now have Rode NT-1A & Nady SCM-900 vocal condensers; CAD e60 & CAD e70 instrumental condensers; Shure SM57 & SM58; and the GLS ESS-57 & ESS-58 (still in my gear bag and still used often).

I've compared the mics to my others in recording and also amped through my PA speakers (custom full-range stereo cabs) and studio monitors (Mackie MR5s; JBL Control 5 Pros; Mackie SW10 powered sub). Again, the ESS mics are close enough to Shure SM's that though there's a barely-detectible difference I can't say that it's good or bad--it's just slightly different. I'd say they're on par with the SM mics, better than many mics costing more than SMs and way better than Shure's economy-model PG57 and PG58, which sell for about double their price rather than triple.