Great Tube Mic Pre for Higher Gain Guitar....

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by tradarama, Dec 5, 2004.

1. tradarama

tradarama www.PRIMEGUITARS.com Silver Supporting Member

Home recording but I want to sound AWESOME! Manley? Drawmer? I'd love to hear your thoughts. Thanks !

2. LSchefman

LSchefman Member

Make your amp sound awesome. Play awesome. Use an awesome miking technique.

But you don't need to waste your money on a high end mic preamp designed to reveal every nuance of an airy vocal, or a piano, to record electric guitar, which has a very limited frequency response (about 150 - 5000 Hz).

Then again, what do I care. It's your money! LOL

Go ahead, waste it. Better yet, send me some. I'll waste it for you!

And yes, I produce broadcast recordings for a living. And yes, I have high end mic preamps.

But I record electric guitars with the built in preamps on my console.

3. MichaelK

MichaelK Member

Les is right. If you want to sound AWESOME!, play AWESOME! There's no way around it. The mic pre won't do it. It won't even help.

4. devin

devin Guest

Assuming your playing is awesome, and that you have a good sound to start with, I would say that buying a good mic pre will make a huge difference in the sound of the recording. Your guitar will sound more natural and sit in the mix better. You will probably need to use less EQ, and it will pick up more of the nuances of the amp, the guitar, and what your fingers are doing.

After recording my first album with Mackie and Aphex 107 mic pre's, I was pretty frustrated with how the guitars never sounded right. I always had to add or subtract EQ to make some tonal compomises, but it was never "right".