Gretsch Guitars

petty1818

I started this thread as a general discussion about Gretsch guitars! I have recently become very interested in what Gretsch offers but I am fairly new to the differences between models etc. I know that the current quality of Gretsch guitars is extremely good so I don't want to discuss that. However, I have always wondered how versatile these guitars are? They are actually a very easy brand to find in music stores in my area but I haven't really tried many because I always associated them with Brian Setzer/ Chet Atkins style playing. For those of you who own a Gretsch guitar, do you find that it is versatile or more limiting?

I have to admit that I am also confused about the different models. It seems as though the Professional collection is what most people buy but there are so many different models with most of them looking identical other than colour differences. Is it all just about feel when buying a Gretsch or are there models that are more versatile/different in tone?

One of the current models that interests me is the G6112TCB-JR Center-Block 2-Tone guitar. I believe that it was just recently released. I am just not sure how the center-block changes the tone if compared to more classic Gretsch guitars? It also comes with Fliter-tron pickups so I don't know if TV Jones are the way to go?

Anyway, I am just looking for any opinions. Feel free to add any points on Gretsch guitars!!

I've also become curious, though mostly about model 5422. No experience with Gretsch at all, but I love Neil Young's tone with CSNY and I believe he used a Gretsch during those days (pre-Old Black).

enharmonic

Old Growth
Platinum Supporting Member
I've had a few of the mid 90s sparkle jets. Gretsch purists don't always dig them because they have the wrong headstock and inlays, but I thought they were great. In fact, my last one was the inspiration for my current Paul Rhoney Oceana.