Grounding Buzz + (Possible) Hum in Home Studio

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by MagnumSSS, Apr 24, 2016.

1. MagnumSSS

MagnumSSS Member

Hey everyone, first time posting in this particular forum so I hope it's the right place.

I'm a guitarist and worked with a contractor to build my home studio last spring and I'm having some ground buzz and hum issues (I believe they're separate issues).
    • First, when I touch anything metal on my guitar (either humbuckers or single coils), the ground buzz goes away. Thus, I'm pretty sure that this is a grounding issue.
    • Second, my 80 watt boutique Fender Showman clone has a very obvious hum when I crank up the volume...but less obvious when the volume is donw. The hum changes in intensity when I change the pickup selector on my guitars. One has Harmonic Design Z90s, the other has Gibson PAF Humbuckers. The bridge pickup is about twice as close to the strings as the neck pickup, and it makes a more audible hum. Seems related. Obvious? LOL. My Super Reverb and Princeton Reverb do this as well. Is this normal? It very well may be and I just need to live with it.
    I took everything out of the equation by unplugging everything in the room (ductless mini split HVAC unit, iMac, monitors, audio interface, other amps, pedalboard, humidifier...everything). I then plugged straight into my amp with a single guitar cable and the amp was the only thing plugged into the wall in the entire room. I experience the two issues mentioned above. No other electrical device in the room could be contributing to the problem with this approach.

My neighbor is my electrician so I have some good details about my room:
    • There's 5 completely separate circuits in the room:
      1. Lights (not using LEDs, but using a dimmer)
      2. ductless minisplit (HVAC)
      3. south wall outlets
      4. north wall outlets
      5. east wall outlets