Grounding issues post pup installation

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by Gasp100, Jan 3, 2008.

1. Gasp100

Gasp100 Silver Supporting Member

Well, I installed my GFS pups today in my partscaster. I'm a total soldering noob and it was much easier to DE-solder than to get the new pups soldered back in, but I was surprised after I was finished that they all worked and the switch was working too. All of the electronics are original (~14 years old at this point) and I probably need a new switch (and new pots) but I'm not skilled enough to swap out the pots yet.
    Anyway, I think the pots are 500 vs. 250 because they have 500 stamped on the back? And they are VERY bright. Maybe I should consider switching to 250 for this strat?
    Now that the guitar is back together I have some issues.
    I'm getting a really bad buzz when I'm not holding down the strings on the guitar. This is way beyond pup buzz, it seems to be ground related because if I put my finger on the bridge or my hand across the tuning machines it stops immediately. Oddly enough I have this same issue with another guitar which I have not modded so I figure if I can fix this one I might be able to fix the other guitar as well.
    So, what did I screw up??? All ground wires (3 pups and bridge and output jack) were soldered to the back of the volume jack... it was a messy ordeal as well and I wasn't sure if any of the actual ground wires should touch one another. Getting them to stick to the back of the volume pot was next to impossible, so I'd hate to have to undo it and try again.
    I tried the mod moving the middle tone control to the bridge and it worked, but I'm getting some serious crackling when I use it. Also, if I open up the tone control above about 3 it crackles and then jumps from bassy to really trebley... basically there's no in-between tones... bummer.