1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Guitar amp tube definitions, functions...

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by tedjac, Jan 16, 2006.

1. tedjac

tedjac Guest

Hi all,

I'm new to the tech side of amps and I'm hoping that you can educate me or tell where to turn to get that education. I know that there are preamp tubes, and power tubes, etc... but what I don't know is how they all work together and which tube does what with what effect on the amp sound (tone, amplitude, etc.).

For example, there are four 12ax7 type tubes in my future amp (Fuchs ODS 30 SLX). What does each one do? There are four 6V6 power tubes... how do they work together and effect each other and the preamp? I'm not really interested in the actual deep electronics theory, but more interested in a practical understanding of what makes a guitar amp work and how the components come together to do what they do. What tube characteristics would be best in which tube socket to get a particular end result?

Do these questions make any sense?

Thanks for any and all help with this...

Ted

2. Chiba

Chiba Gold Supporting Member

Go - right now - and get Dave Hunter's new book, The Guitar Amp Handbook. Even a sketchy first reading will answer some of your above questions. It hasn't been out long, and people may suggest a myriad of other books, but if you want a basic, easy to follow understanding of how the different parts of a tube amp interact, this is your book.

To partially answer your question ... your preamp tubes are used to provide gain; they make the tiny little signal coming from your guitar louder. They also do 'things' to it, like drive a tremolo/vibrato or reverb circuit, not to mention adding that thick, rich distortion tone we're always praising tube amps for.